Red Zones imposed with general holiday in parts of 10 districts

File Photo

The government on Sunday announced general holidays in some areas that were marked as ‘red zone’ by the health authorities in 10 districts, due to high coronavirus infection risk.

The districts are Chattogram, Bogura, Moulvibazar, Chuadanga, Jashore, Madaripur, Narayanganj, Habiganj, Munshiganj and Cumilla.

Ministry of Public Administration issued a gazette notification in this regard, saying the announcement will come into effect from Sunday.
The notification stated the decision was taken to control public movement strictly considering the risk of infection in the areas. The holidays will be effective only in the ‘red zones.’

All job-holders of any sector residing in the red zones will enjoy the holidays.

In Chattogram, Uttar Kattali area of Ward-10 (except the BSCIC industrial area) under Chattogram City Corporation will be under the purview of the announcement. Here, the holidays will continue until July 8.

The holidays will be effective in Chelopara, Nataipara, Naruli, Jaleswaritala, Sutrapur, Maltinagar, Thanthania, Haripari and Colony areas of Bogura until July 5.

In Chuadanga, wards 5 and 7 of Darshana Municipality in Chuadanga’s Damurhuda upazila will be under the announcement until July 8.

General holidays will be effective in some areas of Sreemangal sadar, Baramchal, Kadipur unions and Kulaura municipality of Moulvibazar district until July 5.
Besides, some areas of Rupganj sadar union in Narayanganj will be under the purview of the holiday until July 2.

In Habiganj, ward 6 and 9 of Habiganj municipality; Deorgach, Ubahata, Ranigaon, and sadar municipality of Chunarughat; Ajmiriganj Sadar union; and Madhabpur municipality area will be under the holidays until July 9.

The holidays will be effective for Mathpara area of ward-1 in Munshiganj municipality until July 9.

Residents of areas falling under wards 3, 10, 12 and 13 of Cumilla City Corporation will enjoy the holiday till July 3.

Vast areas of Jashore and Madaripur will also face the red zones’ strict lockdown until different dates.