By-polls in Dhaka-18 and Sirajganj-1 constituencies tomorrow

The by-elections to two parliamentary constituencies – Dhaka-18 and Sirajganj-1 will be held tomorrow from 9 am to 5 pm.

The Election Commission (EC) has already completed all the preparations for holding the polls in a fair and peaceful environment.

Eight candidates from six political parties including Awami League and BNP are contesting in these two seats.

Candidates from the three main political parties – Awami League, BNP and Jatiya Party are taking part in the by-polls in Dhaka-18 constituency, while only Awami League and BNP candidates are contesting in Sirajganj-1 constituency.

The Ministry of Public Administration has decided to close only election-related institutions on the day of polling in these two constituencies. All other offices will remain open.

Movement of some public transports has been banned from today midnight to tomorrow midnight. Motorcycles will not be allowed to ply from midnight on Tuesday to midnight on Friday.

Subject to the permission of the Election Commission, some vehicles will be allowed to move.

In order to maintain law and order, additional magistrates and law enforcement personnel have been serving in the two constituencies.

Dhaka-18 constituency fell vacant following the death of Awami League lawmaker Advocate Sahara Khatun while Sirajganj-1 constituency fell vacant following the death of ruling party MP, Mohammad Nasim.